This is Your Captain Speaking

I’ve been on an airplane a little too much of late; I’m not a huge fan of flying, if you couldn’t tell.

Nevertheless, since I spend a lot of time communing with God mid-flight, He tends to impress certain things on my mind. And as I completed the last leg of my recent journey, it was no different.

It occurred to me that, in my effort to keep myself calm, I looked forward to hearing from the captain.

I dislike a journey where I do not hear from the captain for an entire flight.

Weird, right?

What can I say; his or her voice reassures me. When we experienced some seemingly-incessant shaking on that flight, I waited to hear what the captain had to say.

When he did not come on to warn of turbulence, I relaxed. If he isn’t worried, why should I be, I told myself.

Then it hit me.

I am super comfortable putting my life in the hands of someone equally mortal.

Someone I haven’t even met.

There I was, taking my cues from a complete stranger.

What about my eternal life? Who am I entrusting that to?

Thankfully, there is God.

He knows the end from the beginning, and I can confidently put my faith and trust in Him. He reminds me, “I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, the first and the last.” Revelation 22:13 KJV

I believe the airline would not put an incompetent pilot to fly the airplane, and on that premise, I trust that the pilot possesses the requisite knowledge and skills to get me to my destination safely.

How can I know that about God?
Well, I just need to open my Bible.

There are innumerable accounts of how God led people from one place to another; took them through turbulent situations and brought them safely to the other side.

If He did it for them, He can surely do it for me!

As for knowledge and skills, He created this world by speaking it into existence.
“In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth…And God said…” Genesis 1:1‭, ‬3a KJV How much more evidence do I need?

And unlike the captain, God knows me.

My Bible tells me, “But the very hairs of your head are all numbered.” Matthew 10:30 KJV

As I disembarked the flight, I told the captain, “thank you” and he was polite but impersonal in his response, as is usually the case.

Not my God.
He tells me, “…I can never forget you! I have written your name on the palms of my hands.” Isaiah 49:16 GNT

How personal is that?

When we have conversations, He cares about what I have to say. “But God has indeed heard me; he has listened to my prayer.” Psalm 66:19 GNT

Maybe you’re not like me when you’re flying. Maybe you don’t need the reassurance of the captain’s voice. That’s great!

But I hope you are like me in that you need to hear the voice of God. You need His calm reassurance that everything will be okay, especially given the turbulent times in which we live. “…There are difficult times ahead.”  2 Timothy 3:1‭ MSG

Today, let us listen to our Captain speaking. Let us hear what He has to say.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you’ve been blessed by this devotional, please consider sharing it with someone.

Also, if you would prefer to receive these readings directly in your inbox, simply click on “Follow” and type your email address in. Don’t worry, I don’t get to see it, so your privacy is maintained.

May God bless you!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~