Struggling? Me too.

It’s been a rough few weeks.  I admit, I am struggling.

I can’t quite put it into words, but my spirit is unsettled.

Recent news of death or illness in friends and family members have chipped away at my peace.

Every day seems to bring yet another slice of sadness.

And turning on the news doesn’t help matters.

Still, I can’t say that I am questioning God per se.

The Bible clearly outlined what the state of the world would be as time draws to a close.

“You will hear of wars and rumors of wars, but see to it that you are not alarmed. Such things must happen, but the end is still to come.  Nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom. There will be famines and earthquakes in various places.” Matthew 24:6-7 NIV‬‬

But the sense of moroseness lingers. Maybe it’s something about getting older and feeling one’s mortality. I wonder who is next? Is it me?

I ask myself, “Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me?” Psalm 43:5a NIV

One thought plays on repeat. We’re all seconds away from something changing the entire trajectory of our lives.

Whew! Heavy stuff.

But let’s not dwell there. In fact, the Bible cautions us to keep our thoughts in check.

‭‭”Casting down imaginations…and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;” ‭‭2 Corinthians 10:5 KJV‬‬

My intention is not to bring you down.

Yes, I’ve been struggling, but I’ve felt God’s presence with me in the midst of this miasma of malaise.

“When these things begin to take place, stand up and lift up your heads, because your redemption is drawing near.” Luke 21:28 NIV‬‬

Times like these should draw us to our Bibles or propel us to our knees.

This morning, I was reminded that as much as I would love to relieve the pain and suffering of those who are sick or mourning, their Heavenly Father is even more attentive to that.

‭‭”The Lord is good to everyone. He showers compassion on all his creation.” Psalms 145:9 NLT‬‬

I know it can be hard to see past the whys, but consider that the One who created ALL things is good to His creation.

We may not understand why He allows certain things to happen, but we can be assured that He is doing ALL for our good. (Romans 8:28)

I can’t say I always like the method, but I know I have to trust the process. His process. This, my friend, is at the heart of our Christianity.

In following Christ, we put our trust in Him. One day, all will be made plain. “‭‭…Now I know in part; then I shall know fully..” 1 Corinthians 13:12b NIV‬‬

In the meantime, “Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” ‭‭Hebrews 4:16 KJV

God has promised to be with us, through thick and thin; through the good times and the sad times.

If you are struggling today, hold on to Him, take comfort in His Word.

Praise and pray!

Talk to someone. Seek help.

Maybe, like me, you’re tempted to lie in bed, pull the covers over your head, and just shut the world out.

But that person we’re mourning or the one who is too ill to move, if given the chance, would be out and about today.

We still have the gift of life,  so let’s use it.

This song has been a reminder to me to look to where my help comes from. May it do the same for you.

Leave a comment